Posted by: Tom | November 21, 2011

To Travel Is To Live

Most of my friends already know that I love traveling, and this is something that I truly live for. I travel because I want to explore different amazing and extraordinary places, to meet fabulous people from all over the world, to be more aware of the cultures of others as well as of my own, to learn, to see, to explore. Last night I was watching the “Amazing Race” show (a show where couples travel around the world, compete against each other resolving different clues to continue on their journey), and while they were in Copenhagen, Denmark, one of the clues was to memorize a poem of Worlds famous Danish author, poet, and fairy tale writer, Hans Christian Andersen, who among many others remarkable fairy tale stories also wrote “The Emperor’s New Clothes”, “The Princess and the Pea”, “The Little Mermaid” and “The Ugly Duckling”. These children stories remain even today very popular and are widely read across the globe.

The poem that H. C. Andersen wrote is so true and so beautiful.

“To move, to breath, to fly, to float,

To gain all while you give, to roam the roads of lands remote.

To travel is to live.” – H. C. Andersen

Nobody could express it more beautifully than Hans Christian Andersen. “To Travel is to Live” is said so perfectly perfect.


Categories