Posted by: Thomas | August 23, 2011

5.9 magnitude earthquake in Washington, DC area

Around 2pm today on this very beautiful day of August 23, 2011 a 5.9 magnitude earthquake rocked the nation’s capital, Washington DC. I was sitting in the office, working, and suddenly I felt something shaking. My desk was shaking. At first it was a small shake, then after a few seconds it was bigger and louder shake and the entire building started to move.  We all looked at each other, and realized that it was an earthquake. People started to run and go out of the building. I was shocked for a moment, and remembered that I should stand under the door, but unfortunately the building is very old and standing under the door and be inside is not a good idea, so I started to run out as well. The rocking stopped after about 30 seconds, and we all returned to our desks. This was my first earthquake after over 20 years, and I got little scared. The earthquake was apparently the biggest earthquake on the East coast in decades, and it was felt all the way to Toronto and Chicago.

What came to my mind is that there are so many things that I still would like to do and accomplish in my life, I thought about my loved ones, my dearest parents and how I cannot wait to see them in just about 10 days. Life is so unpredictable and one never knows what the next moment brings, and therefore we should always tell our loved ones how much we love and appreciate them.

The past weekend I was at home in New York City and spent two days shopping for presents for my parents, and looking so forward do see them soon. This earthquake scared me, and I am glad it is over now. I just hope that the hurricane Irene that is coming from Atlantic will pass and not hit the land.

Leave a Reply

Categories

