Posted by: Thomas | May 23, 2010

Flying Trapeze, New York City

Since this article is about my adventures and travels probably most of you are expecting an article about some amazing and exciting place on this wonderful plant Earth and a great adventure of mine; and you are absolutely right. I am going to write about flying trapeze in the most exciting and populous metropolitan area in the world, New York City.

New York City Skyline

New York City Skyline


As a host of United Nations Headquarters and being a leading global city that exerts a powerful influence over global commerce, finance, culture, media, fashion, art, education, research and entertainment, New York City has many attractions and plenty of things to do than one can imagine. I have lived and worked in more than 10 different metropolitan cities across 4 different continents, visited numerous of places across Europe, Asia, Australia and Pacific, Central and Latin America, United States, Caribbean and many wonderful islands on this beautiful and wonderful planet we call Earth, and I truly believe that City of New York is one of the most amazing and exciting cities in the entire world.

As Thomas Wolf said once “One belongs to New York instantly, one belongs to it as much in five minutes as in five years”. The lyrics of “Empire State of Mind” performed by Jay-Z and Alicia Keys describe and summarize New York perfectly:

“…New York, concrete jungle where dreams are made of
There’s nothin’ you can’t do
Now you’re in New York
These streets will make you feel brand new
Big lights will inspire you
Let’s hear it for New York, New York,
New York …”

With so many unique attractions, world-famous museums, theaters, and skyscrapers there is always plenty to do in New York. City offers endless sources of stimulation in New York. So, being adventurous and with so many different things to chose from I decided to do “Flying Trapeze” to celebrate my birthday. Wow, after 2 hours of fun and jumping from a platform with the trapeze so that gravity makes the trapeze swing, I have much more respect for people who do it professionally in circuses like Cirque Du Soleil.

Trapeze School New York

Trapeze School New York


As a first time flyer I had no clue what to expect, and after a couple of hours I had so much energy and excitement. Flying trapeze is thrilling, fun and very exciting that makes you feel so great and strong.

First I, the flyer, had to climb a tall ladder and then take off from the platform on the fly bar. I had to wait for the call from the instructor, the catcher who was swinging from a separate catch bar, to make sure he leaves on the correct time; otherwise he would not be close enough to me to make a successful act. I am proud to say that I caught him every single time. The first couple of practice swings were difficult since I didn’t know exactly what to expect, but I did manage to put my knees up and to find the way for my feet over the bar. Next thing I knew, my hands were off the bar and I was soaring upside down.

Ready to jump

Ready to jump

Ready to jump

Ready to jump


When the time was to perform full act and fly through the air to catch the instructor I did it and it felt great since you only have one shot to catch him; otherwise you just fall through the air on the safety net. Once I was in the catcher’s hand I felt great and I continued to swing and did a back flip and dropped on the safety net with the biggest smile on my face.

It is very important to have the momentum and to never loose it. Once the catcher says “hep”, you jump and let the gravity swing you, then immediately you put your “knees up” on the fly bar followed by “hands down” and before you know it, you are in the catcher’s hands. Amazing feeling. It sounds easy “hep”, “knees up”, “hands down”, “catch”, “swing” and “back flip”, but it is not. However, it is very thrilling and exciting. I still cannot believe I did it so good. The instructors were very encouraging, supportive, very patience and made my birthday fun and an exciting one.

Me on Flying Trapeze - Exciting

Me on Flying Trapeze - Exciting


I had a perfect birthday celebration in a great and amazing City of New York. My next article is going to be about Australia and New Zealand where I am going for my vacation at the end of August. Stay tuned.
I want to do it again :-)

I want to do it again 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

