Posted by: Thomas | December 20, 2009

Hang Gliding in Rio de Janeiro, Brasil – “The Marvelous City”

Let me begin by quoting St. Augustine, one of the most important figures in the development of Western Christianity: “The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.”

Last month I went to incredible Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The city is commonly known as Rio and it is also nicknamed A Cidade Maravilhosa or “The Marvelous City. With its famous beaches Copacabana, Ipanema and Leblon, its beautiful natural settings, great music such as Samba and Bosa Nova, with its most amazing and famous Carnival celebration in the World, with one of the World’s largest football stadiums Maracana, and other famous landmarks like the giant statue of Christ on the top of the Corcovado mountain, which is named one of the New Seven Wonders of the World, no wonder that Rio de Janeiro is also called The Marvelous City.

Since I was a little boy I was always fascinated by Rio and its friendly people. Fortunately I had the opportunity to visit this incredible city a few times already, and the experience from the last month’s visit was even better than the previous ones.

Since I love the adventure I chose to do Hang gliding over amazing Tijuca National Park in Rio, which is the largest urban forest in the World. This special flying experience was extraordinary and you have the sensational feeling of flying like a bird, with a light breeze of tropical air in your face. The view of beautiful mountains that meet the Atlantic Ocean and beautiful beaches of Rio was magnificent.

First there was a short briefing about take-off and other aspects of hang gliding and when I looked over the ledge I saw nothing but trees and the Atlantic Ocean far in the distance. Then the taking off was very simple and easy. It was not terrifying at all – well, at least not for me. After just a few steps of running over the platform we jumped of the mountain and started gliding smoothly through the air. A great feeling that makes you feel and understand why birds are such a peaceful animals.

There was no fear of not touching the ground at all. I like living on the edge and I like the feeling when the adrenaline start pumping through my veins. Adventure and trying new things is what attracts me, otherwise it is too boring. We were in the air for about 25 minutes and saw major attractions of Rio such as beautiful beaches Copacabana and Ipanema, Corcovado Mountain, Sugarloaf and the city of Niteroi on the other side of the Guanabara Bay and finally we landed on the sandy beach of Sao Conrado in the southern part of Rio. An amazing and unforgettable experience.

My trip to Rio de Janeiro was full of highlights and it is very hard to pick one thing that really stands out because it is such a great international city, but I chose to write about hang gliding, and I would recommend Rio to anyone no matter if you like hang gliding or just sit on the beach or dance samba on the streets or just eat great food. See you in Rio for Carnival in February 2010. I’ll be there for sure, will you?

Responses

  1. What a great trip!!! After the great, detailed description of this beautiful or should I say marvelous city, I must plan a trip there. I’m terribly afraid of heights but I can’t resist the urge to try hang gliding after reading about your amazing experience! Oh Rio look for me in 2010!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

