Posted by: Thomas | May 29, 2009

Swimming with Sharks and Skydiving

As we all already know a good vacation can help us to reconnect with ourselves, help us back to feeling our best, promote creativity, and most importantly keep us healthy. Vacations also help us with our job performance. Some studies suggest that the psychological benefits that come with more frequent vacations lead to increased quality of life, and that can lead to increased quality of work on the job. The bottom line is that taking a good amount of time away from the stresses of daily life can give us the break we need so that we can return to our lives refreshed and better equipped to handle whatever comes.

So, being an adventurist I invited my godson and my friend to share with me an amazing experience of a lifetime. At the beginning my 18-year old godson was little hesitant to the idea of swimming with the big dangerous sharks in the morning and then in the afternoon of the same day jump from an airplane from 14,000 feet. But having great negotiation skills I convinced him for an adventure of a lifetime. My philosophy is to do things with no regrets and I rather say “Oh, I shouldn’t have done it” than “Oh, I should have”.

Anyway, on a beautiful day, May 29th 2009, around 6am in the morning we went off to swim with the sharks at Oahu’s beautiful and famous North Short. This thrilling experience in Hawaii has profoundly affected my feelings towards sharks, as I joined them three miles out of sea off Oahu’s beautiful North Shore. This indescribable experience of seeing the beauty and splendor of Hawaii’s Sharks as they rise from the depths to greet us was extraordinary.

Upon arrival to the shark grounds the first 4 people get in the cage. The water was over 600 feet deep, blue and crystal clear. The view was incredible. Just getting in was a bit of a thrill, but once in that small cage, the big glass windows are nearly transparent, so when that 10 foot long Galapagos shark presses his nose against the glass, it looks like he is coming right on in. Nothing to worry though, the shark is not getting in. In fact, I pressed my nose against the glass, and I was one quarter of an inch away from the business end of one big shark.

Well, I had to be careful since the cage was very small and when you dive your legs might go through the cage over to the other side, so a curious shark might taste your feet. We saw around 10 big Galapagos and Sandbar sharks. Both of these sharks were very curious, completely unafraid and came very close to the shark cage. The sharks, not interested in eating people as it is not on their normal menu, showed no aggression and showed their curious nature and intelligence by simply staying close to the cage and studying the people. This is an experience not to be missed and will be remembered for a lifetime.

The Shark, which is called “mano” in Hawaiian, is still central to the culture of the native Hawaiians and is featured in many legends. Below are some pictures from this amazing and extraordinary experience. This was my first but not the last time for sure. It is really not dangerous since you are in the cage. A few years ago I was swimming with Crocodiles in Jamaica, without a cage and in a black river full of crocodiles. The last crocodile we saw was like 10 feet away from the spot where I jumped into the black river to take a dip. Anyway, that’s another very interesting, dangerous and funny story.

After swimming with sharks we went to do tandem skydiving from 14,000 feet at the World’s most beautiful drop zone. The first time I jumped from the plane was in New Zealand and it is always a trill to jump. Flying above the clouds after falling through the Hawaiian skies at 120mph is an adventure that I will always remember and treasure.

The day was very clear and from the sky we could see sharks beneath us. The very ones we saw earlier that morning. Skydiving is now the extreme sport of choice and tandem skydiving is without question, the safest way to experience skydiving for the first time. We had about 60 seconds of free fall, which was amazing.

We had an amazing and unforgettable vacation in Hawaii. There is no place on Earth like Hawaii, which is one of my favorite places to vacation. Since 1999, the first time I visited Hawaii I just fall in love with the Islands and promised to myself to go to Hawaii every single year. This year we went at the end of May 2009 to celebrate my and my godson’s birthdays, and visited three Islands, Maui, Big Island and Oahu. Hawaii with all kind of beaches, white, red, black and green, is the best. Aloha.

Responses

  1. What a great adventure in Hawaii! I’m glad that the curious sharks didn’t want to try something different then their regular daily menu. Jajaja.btw how did you convince your godson to swim with the sharks and fly with the birds? Hmmmmmmm

  2. i got good negotiation skills, and to be honest it is not that difficult to convince a frog to jump into the water, if you know what i mean 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

