Posted by: Thomas | May 21, 2009

A Little Funny Misunderstanding

One of my coworkers got promoted a week ago and I was in the meeting when the decision was made. The official announcement was not made yet and it was supposed to be made on today’s staff meeting; however, my coworker was informed about the promotion, but I haven’t seen her for two weeks.
So, when I got in to the office today I saw her and with a big smile on my face I said:

“Hey, I haven’t seen you for a long time. Oh, Congratulations!!!”

I was congratulating her on her promotion but I only said “Congratulations!!!” assuming she knew what I was referring to since she was really hoping to get promoted for a while now. She turned to me and said:

– “Oh, you know?”

She said it with a big surprise on her face; like this is something I should not know about.  Little confused, I said:

– “Of course I know. I was there. I was involved.”

The she was even more surprised and wile putting her right hand on her stomach and rubbing it, she was asking how I knew. Then I looked at her stomach and realized that she was pregnant. Being little chocked I said:

– “Are you …? Are you pregnant?

She replied:

– “Yes I am. How did you know? I haven’t told anyone.”

Little confused and chocked I said that I was referring to her promotion and that I had no clue about her pregnancy. Then we both start laughing very loud and replaying our conversation and this little funny misunderstanding. Very funny since I said “Of course I know. I was there.” She was wondering how come she doesn’t recall me “being there” and me “being involved”.

Now the news about both her promotion and her pregnancy is out. Apparently she didn’t tell anyone neither about her promotion or her pregnancy and there were about 5 people in the same office who were surprised by the news. They were happy for her of course but surprised about the whole incident.  This little misunderstanding really made both my coworker and me laugh and everyone else in the office. I am even laughing right now while I am writing about this.  🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

