Posted by: Thomas | January 19, 2009

The Queen of Rock & Roll, Tina Turner, 70, Still Rocks Live in Concert Cologne

Amazing and incredible Ms. Tina Turner rocked tonight in Cologne live in concert. Tonight was her 4th night here in Cologne, Germany. She started the European leg in Cologne on January 14th, 2009. Due to high demands she had to add additional shows across the whole Europe. She is simply the best and the greatest person ever. I would love to meet her in person. She is going to be 70 years young later this year and she still looks fabulous and fantastic. Her legs are still the best legs I have ever seen. Her amazing positive energy is incredible. Her voice is better than ever. Everything about her is just great.

Wow, yes, just wow. Seeing Tina Turner live in concert is something extraordinary and very special. This is mine 6th time to see her live in Concert for this 2008-2009 50th Anniversary tour. First I saw here in Chicago on October 4th, 2008, then in Miami on October 30th, 2008, followed by Boston on November 17th, 2008, Washington DC on November 24th, 2008, Hartford on December 6th, 2008 and now tonight in Cologne, Germany on January 19th, 2009. Of course I had excellent seats, on the floor, center, 4th row.

Also, tonight in Cologne I saw another Tina Turner fan, who is from Netherlands and who approached me at the end of the show in Washington DC and told me that he has never seen anyone so enthusiastic before and gave me a Tina Turner CD that he had for himself. This, coming from a person like him, who by the end of this tour will see Ms. Tina Turner 50 times, is a big compliment for me. Yes, he is going to almost every single show and he is living my dream. If I could I would see every singe show that she has done and going to do (90 shows in total – 38 in US and 52 in Europe). He recognized me and we talked a little bit before the show. Apparently he has an ice-cream shop in Netherlands, which is closed during the winter time, from October to May so the Tina Turner tour was perfectly scheduled for him. The first show was in October 2008, where he flew to the US to see her and one of the last shows will be in May 2009. Perfect timing for him.  He immediately got the tickets as soon as they were released, scheduled his flights and went on tour himself. Really amazing. I would love to be able to do that. Oh, why am I not rich?

Anyway, I live in New York and I flew to Germany just to see Tina Turner with my lovely mother, who lives in Sweden. First I flew to Sweden to get my mom, who is 55 years young and together we came to Cologne to spend an incredible weekend together and to see one and only Ms. Tina Turner live in concert one more time. This is the first time for my mom to see Tina Turner live, so I am even more excided to share this extraordinary experience with a person I love so much, my dear mother. We had an amazing and excellent and unforgettable time together. Also, this was the first time my mother flew in an airplane. She is afraid of planes so she always drives across Europe by car. It wasn’t easy to convince her but she did it for me, and she was very pleased and said that this was the best present for her – to spend a weekend with her son and to see Tina Turner together with me. “What better can you get” – she said.

Tina Turner and my mother are two amazing women and I adore both of them and they both give me a reason to live and so much good and positive energy. Oh, I just love them.

I feel special and so lucky to have the opportunity to see Tina Turner one more time live in concert. Last time I saw her was on her Farwell tour year 2000. I saw her twice, once in Germany and the second time in Sweden and I had an amazing time. This concert was even better than the last tour. She really can deliver and she creates such a great atmosphere and energy and she leaves the audience with the big smile of happiness and joy on their face when they leave the arena.

One and only Ms. Turner started the concert with “Steamy Windows” and delivered incredible performance. She performed 20 wonderful songs such as “Typical Male”, “River Deep, Mountain High”, “What’s Love Got to Do With It”, “Private Dancer”, “Acid Queen”, “Help”, “Undercover Agent for the Blues”. When she started to sing “Let’s Stay Together” everyone in the audience, all plus 20 000 people, started screaming. She did an incredible version of “I Can’t Stand the Rain” supported by piano only, and this version was even better than the original. Then of course she performed one of the best songs ever made “Adicted to Love”, “The Best”, “Proud Mary”, “Nutbush City Limits” and she finished the concert with a nice song called “Be Tender with Me Baby”.

Tonight show was exactly the same as all the other shows she did for this 50th Anniversary tour and I loved and enjoyed every single second of it. I loved every single song, every moment of the show, pre-show and after the show. She had also a small intermission. The concert was 150 minutes, oh yeah, 2 hours and 30 minutes of Tina Turner. Her four female dancers were incredible. She always has 4 female dancers and she refers to them as her flowers. This time she also had some male acrobatic dancers that were entertaining.

Tina Turner is indeed one and only and simply the best. I can’t really explain in words my feelings and how it was to see her once again live on stage performing. Especially this time I had a great opportunity to share these incredible moments with my dear mother. It is just incredible and everyone should go and see Tina Turner. Her energy is indescribable. I cannot wait to see her again and to buy the DVD of this show.

Tina Turner is a singer, songwriter, dancer, performer and actress. She has won eight Grammy Awards. Ms. Turner’s consistent contributions to rock music have earned her the title “The Queen of Rock & Roll”. She has also performed R&B, soul, dance and pop music. She was listed on Rolling Stone’s list The Immortals — The Greatest Artists of All Time.
Tina Turner has sold more concert tickets than any other solo performer ever. Turner’s world tour Break Every Rule Tour had record breaking ticket sales, visited by over four million fans. Her 1996 Wildest Dreams Tour was performed to 3.5 million people. Her “One Last Time Tour” was year 2000 or “Twenty Four Seven Tour” was the highest grossing tour of the year and is the 5th biggest grossing tour in America ever. She also holds record of performing in front of 186 000 people in Rio de Janeiro. Yeah, she is simple the Best and I simply love her.

I love you Tina Turner very much and you are my inspiration, motivation and you give me all this positive and great energy I have today. Thank you Tina very much and please never retire and I am so looking forward to see you again very soon live in concert. Thank You Tina. You ARE simply the best.

The following are the songs that she sang live in concert in Cologne, Germany:

Get Back
Steamy Windows
Typical Male
River Deep, Mountain High
What You Get is What You See
Better Be Good to Me
Acid Queen
What’s Love Got to Do With It
Private Dancer
We Don’t Need Another Hero
–Intermission—
I Can’t Stand the Rain
Jumpin’ Jack Flash/Only Rock and Roll
Golden Eye
Addicted to Love
The Best
Proud Mary
Nutbush City Limits
Be Tender with Me Baby

Leave a Reply

Categories

