Posted by: Thomas | June 28, 2008

New Delhi Sightseeing

We woke up relatively early today, around 10am, had breakfast and left the hotel to explore Delhi. There are over 12 million people that live in Delhi at the moment (so I have heard on the streets of Delhi). Unfortunately the large number of important sightseeing venues and the expanse of the city together make Delhi actually quite a difficult city to explore in a short period of time. The traffic is bad and it takes a long time to get from one place to another. But we managed to see some of the monuments such as The India Gate, Qutub Minar (which was build in 12th century), Mahatma Gandhi famous sea walk statues, The Palace, and some other historical, cultural and the religious sights that I have forgotten the name of. We also saw chaos in the city and we did some shopping (not me this time surprisingly). Boys on the picture below are trying to sell newspapers and magazines while the cars a waiting for the traffic light to change to green.

Yes, it was very hot today. It was about 100 degrees Fahrenheit and we were 5 people in a very small car. Below are some pictures from today’s tour. We also had famous flavored milk. I never heard of it before, so we went to a little shop to taste it. The line was pretty long and I really couldn’t drink the milk. I just tried it but I could not drink it. I mean when I see the flies all around and dirty hands of people who sell food or drinks I get sick. Yes I am very picky and that’s why I have trouble of eating here. When I am hungry I just go to a restaurant and I don’t look around or at the food or anywhere. I just take a few bites and that’s it. Unfortunately I lost some weight.

After sightseeing we were pretty exhausted so we went back to the hotel. Our friend from Delhi wanted to take us to another Indian restaurant but we all were in favor of ordering room service. I somehow trust better 5-star hotel than those small venues or restaurants on the streets of Delhi. The food was good as always and we got complimentary deserts and cheese to have with our wine. We stayed at the hotel tonight and watched movies on the TV since my friends were tired and exhausted. I really wanted to go out and dance. Can you believe? And they are all younger than I am. What is happening to the world?

Leave a Reply

Categories

