Posted by: Thomas | April 25, 2008

Day #24 – India

Today I was thinking of people in New York office.

 

I miss Anand P. complaining all the time how much work he has and then he goes and asks for more work and just wants more and more work and still somehow he completes it all. That man works day and night I guess or he might have hired someone to help him out.

 

I miss seeing Sid spilling wine all over his pants and not remembering what happened the night before. Then he goes online and enrolls in some paranormal class to hunt for ghosts (not knowingly of course).

 

I miss Paul K. pretending working just to skip having lunch with me. I miss Miss Parker walking in the office in her flip-flops and having ice-cream for lunch (some kind of a diet I guess).

 

I miss Jessica organizing those crazy happy hours where she always somehow tricks you to take shots and then suddenly you find yourself dancing at the middle of the bar and taking your shirt off. I really don’t know how she does it, but somehow she has that power to convince you to take those shots and to make you do those crazy things. Well, to convince some people to take a shot is as easy as to convince a frog to jump into the water (this is just a saying).

 

I miss talking with Miss Park about her going to those designer sales and spending tons of money on Gucci and Prada bags, and then she complains how she doesn’t have money for Dolce & Gabbana. Oh, poor her. I feel her pain.

 

I miss Vlad giving me financial investment advice and how to save money, but somehow every time I have that conversation with him I find myself spending more money than ever before. Well, actually I call it investment and Vlad calls it “unnecessary expenditure”. I am investing in myself so to speak. You know, buying new cloths, going on luxury vacations to relax, basically maintaining myself – well, maintenance costs and you have to look good in this business.

 

I miss Gabby and Tanya planning a night to go out and party with them, and we have been planning this for 3 years now and yet we have never managed to go out together and party. That has to be changed. That’s life I guess. You know, life is what happens to us while we’re busy making other plans.

 

I miss Argie’s hosting SMC (Single Malt Club) nights and her famous and delicious baklava. Oh, I want one right now so bad. You have no idea what I would give or do right now just for one slice of yummy, delicate, pastry made of many layers of paper-thin dough with a filling of ground nuts, baked and then drenched in a syrup of honey. Oh, that sounds so good right now.

 

You all are missed.

 

Lord of Mercy, these personal trainers over here are not playing. They are much tougher than the ones in New York Sports Club. No breaks and they are very good and tough on you. They push you hard so you really feel the pain. This pain is good pain. Tomorrow there is an hour of Salsa at the gym. Oh yeah, I can’t wait. I love dancing.

 

Friday night, oh yippy, I am so excited you have no idea. Right now is 9pm in Bangalore and I have full 2 hours to party and have fun. Oh, no wait, I have only like an hour because it will take me an hour to get to the club. I better hurry up …

 

Responses

  1. Nice writing. You are on my RSS reader now so I can read more from you down the road.

    Allen Taylor

  2. I miss you too Thomas!! Don’t forget about our Chipotle, movie & ice cream day when you come back!


Leave a Reply

Categories

